in my pocket

February 21, 2010 at 2:24 pm (Uncategorized) (, )

big fat rubber band:

possibly a sign of insecurity

like the huge knots

on the back of my primary school embroidery.

tissues:

my mum always had one

up her sleeve

the lump of it an abiding childhood memory.

aspirin:

better than paracetamol

and take three says my sister’s consultant

why does advice you pay for seem more reliable?

nail file:

found on the street

but kept

because I try but I’ll only start biting again

when one gets broken.

one pound and five pence:

for milk

ordinary is only eighty five pence

but the organic is a pound and three.

gloves with holes:

in fact more hole than glove now

hoping to make them last the winter

not mean, just frugal.

fluff.

(Linking back to TFE and the Poetry Bus)

8 Comments

  1. TotalFeckinEEjit said,

    Spare, sparse, splendid!

  2. Rachel Fox said,

    Ah, the tissue lump! I couldn’t fit tissues into my poem this time but never mind – here they are!
    x

  3. Argent said,

    Eej says it well: spare, sparse, splendid! My mum always had a tissue lump and, as a snotty-nosed kid, so did I.

  4. Titus said,

    A poem of small details and half-glimpsed insights. Really enoyed it, and love the final line.

  5. Karen said,

    I really enjoyed the details and the introspection. The final line speaks volumes. I really like this!

  6. Pure Fiction said,

    I like the rubber band and the lead in to the knotty school embroidery – very telling, but beautifully subtle. Lovely poem.

  7. Domesitc Oub said,

    Great stuff…. paid for advice, organic milk, loved all the little details 🙂

  8. Jingle said,

    beautiful writings.
    anything could be the subjects,
    I am impressed and reminded the openness of poetry…

    😉

Leave a Reply

